Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Here are two books I’ve recently read and highly recommend. You can read more of my book reviews at Goodreads.com: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/37872492-aaron-hamilton

Thin Air by Richard K. Morgan

In “Thin Air”, Morgan’s vividly imagined Martian scenery and cast of deliciously damaged characters is some of his best writing yet. The twisted noir-scifi plot exceeded my expectations, even after reading his Takeshi Kovacs novels multiple times. He continues to raise the bar for darkly satisfying and thought provoking fiction. There is enough familiarity in the gritty scenery, social unrest, and overwhelming odds to remind of his previous novels, yet there is always something new and surprising in the world he creates, something that makes this novel my new favorite, at least until his next offering.

Fans of the Kovacs novels and “Thirteen” will undoubtedly find much to love, while readers new to this outstanding author can instantly learn how much more is in store for them as they continue to read his works.

Vacationland by John Hodgman

I first remember seeing John Hodgman on Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show” years ago. Occasionally I would catch him in an advertisement (notably the PC user opposite of Justin Long in the Apple computer ads) or in a bit part on TV. Most recently, I saw him in a larger role on Amazon Prime’s “The Tick”, which was unfortunately not renewed for a third season, despite the belly laughs and excitement it provided. Hodgman is also one of the personalities on the long-running and popular “Judge John Hodgman” podcast on the Maximum Fun podcast network. My point is, you’ve likely seen him or heard his dry, intelligent wit before.

Hodgman’s talents as a writer and storyteller were previously unknown to me. This was my loss. As much as I enjoy his comic acting, his talent for writing humor makes me respect him even more.

“Vactionland” is part memoir, part travelogue, and all immensely enjoyable. Intertwined are vignettes ranging from the author’s childhood to his start in writing, from his earliest memories of New England vacations to his his full embrace of life in Maine, and also memorable experiences from his speaking events. All are delivered with the subtle humor and self-effacing commentary familiar to a man recalling his earlier years with equal parts shame and laughter.

I highly recommend “Vacationland” as a peek into a brilliant mind as well as an entertaining read. I’m certain I’ll enjoy more from Hodgman in years to come.

Did you know you can connect with me on Goodreads to share books you’ve enjoyed? I would also appreciate any recommendations you want to leave in this blog’s comments section.